Advice I Wish I Had Heard Before I Went To College

Hello again everyone!

I am happy to see so many new followers joining me on this journey 🙂 I just wanted to let you all know that recently I have been ULTRA busy with studying for my finals.

As some of you may already know, my first year of college was cut short when I unfortunately had to come home because I came down with an awful case of mono. It was awful, trust me. Anyway, because of this, I am now having to finish off the semester at home.

So far, I’ve successfully taken my last exam in Symbolic Logic, leaving me with a final grade of an A- in that class. Now what I have left to study for is an exam AND final for statistics and also my dreaded Calc III final…

I’m definitely going to need a little luck but hopefully if I continue to manage my time well and put in hard work into my revising, I’ll be able to make it out okay.

I just wanted to reflect a little on my past year and how it has shaped me, as well as hopefully giving some useful advice to anyone in high school or college who may be dealing with the stress that comes with the pressure to succeed.

Throughout my life, I have always been a perfectionist and set the highest expectations for myself. If I didn’t get an A in a class I would come home crying. It was that bad. Earlier this year, I was in my friend’s dorm room at school when she received a FaceTime from one of her high school friends back at home; she was crying because she had not done well on her most recent report card. I immediately was able to relate and sympathize  because I had completely been in her shoes before. It honestly feels like the end of the world when you don’t achieve what you set out to. Such a blow to one’s confidence can also discourage one from getting back up and trying again.

To my fellow perfectionists out there: Next time you receive a bad grade or don’t live up to your expectations, try to put it into perspective. Honestly, it’s not the end of the world. It may seem like it, but it’s not. At my lowest points in school when I felt like I was failing at everything, I had to remind myself of all the people I have in my life who care for me and love me. The one thing that kept me going was reminding myself: “Hey, at least my dad still loves me.” (I’m still somewhat of a daddy’s girl)

High school was honestly the bane of my existence last year and it was hell trying to finish it. I am so thankful that I was able to struggle through because now I am so wonderfully happy at my new school. College is a place to be independent and pave the way for your own future. It’s the independence and responsibility I have always craved.

I’d like to consider myself a little wiser after living away from home for a whole school year now. So let me share a few things I’ve learned at my first year at Bucknell:

  1. Your well-being is more important than anything. When you don’t really have anyone there whose sole purpose it is to look after you, it can seem a little dismal sometimes when you are either mentally or physically unwell and you have the duty of balancing your studies with friends on top of that added pressure. Sometimes it all gets a little too much so REACH OUT TO SOMEONE. It is so hard having to go through something alone. If you feel unwell enough to go to class, then don’t go. But do make the effort to keep your professors in the loop so they know what’s going on. They are there to help you. And one bad grade won’t kill you if it means you are taking care of your health.
  2. Find good friends. This one is the most important. Even after a bad day when you know you just completely failed a calc exam, it’s essential to have someone there who you can depend on for a comfort talk and a chocolate milkshake date. Just these little things can make you feel a little more sane when you are someone who drives themselves insane in trying to get good grades.
  3. Don’t go too hard on the weekends. Yes, I had to learn this one the hard way. Honestly, one night in every now and then isn’t going to kill you. I know FOMO is way too real sometimes, but wouldn’t you rather help yourself out by getting enough rest than spending a night out way too late that you probably won’t even remember in the morning? You’re much better off getting relief from sleep than going out and drinking your problems away.
  4. Stay organized. Organization is key, as I have also learned the hard way (yes, I go through a lot of trial and error). Even if you can’t keep the clothes off your floor and there always seems to be more junk appearing everywhere, at least keep your school materials and work area clean. This often translates to a clearer and more organized mind, so you will be able to be more productive every day.
  5. Don’t stress yourself out. College isn’t just about the grades, like high school may have felt like. So take in every moment and explore every opportunity because what you really will take away from these four years is the experience and the memories you have made with life-long friends.

I hope these tips may be useful for some of you going into college! And I apologize if I am unable to keep up with my posts in the next few days, seeing as my nose is going to be buried in my statistics book… I hope you are all doing well and if you are finishing up your school year, hang in there!

Leave a Reply

