Finding That Perfect Place

Aghh!! I’ve been neglecting my blog for the past week or so. I KNOW and I’m sorry, 😥

Oh well… Nobody’s perfect and that includes me.

Part of the reason that I I haven’t been able to post that much was because I was so caught up in cramming for some of my final exams. I made the trek back up to Bucknell this past Friday to take two exams for my statistics course (thank God I’m done…) and it made me remember why I fell in love with the school in the first place.

You know how high school students dream of walking on to the campus of their future school and immediately getting that feeling that it would be “the one”? Well, that’s exactly what happened to me. I hadn’t even stepped foot on campus and I already knew that I was going to fall in love with it.

IMG_0009

I clearly remember the first time I visited. It was for admitted students day and my mom and I were staying at a hotel about twenty minutes away.

Now one thing you should know about Bucknell is that it is kind of in the middle of nowhere… But the middle of nowhere happens to feel like home to me. We were driving up to the hotel and I was staring in awe of the hanging clouds looming over the rolling hills surrounding us. It was slightly drizzling and around every turn we made there was another picturesque red barn with a pasture full of horses or cows roaming the grass. Either that, or a vast expanse of graveyard. Either way, I loved it. The simplicity of the land spoke to me and reminded me of my days growing up in Ohio. I love open land and being able to go to school right in the middle of it all; it’s liberating to say the least.

Since I left campus last semester before any of the trees had blossomed (on account of my mono), I never got to fully appreciate the beauty of my school in full throttle. Even though the visit back was slightly dampered with the fact that I had to take four hours of statistics exams (yuck), I was so happy to be able to walk around and show my mom all of the buildings that contain so many memories for me… some of which I shared with my her, and others which I could not.

IMG_0010

I am so excited to start this coming semester off to a fresh start, and hopefully this time my immune system won’t fail me and I’ll actually be able to make the most out of all of my classes. (My attendance last semester was mediocre, at best.) I wish that every rising college student will be able to have that moment where their intuition tells them that they have found the right place to spend the next four years of their lives growing and learning.

As for now, I have to stop procrastinating and start studying for my multivariable calculus final which I am taking towards the end of the month. Wish me luck and I hope to talk to you soon!

IMG_0011

One thought on “Finding That Perfect Place

  1. JoHanna Massey says:

    Excellent photos.

    I hope that you will soon be so far on the other side of your mono that it will be firmly something you recall as an event in your past. Something that no longer defines, has any influence or impact on your daily living …but an experience that has left you able to be kind and compassionate to anyone experiencing it in their present.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

