Day Nine – Get Inspired by the Neighbo(u)rs

Look at me, getting all inspired and whatnot from my new online friends 🙂

Day Nine’s assignment (a day late, I know) for Blogging101 was:

write a post that builds on one of the comments you left yesterday. Don’t forget to link to the other blog!

So… what is now two days ago, I read a post talking about the importance of balancing your time and the importance of breaks from work. I completely support the idea of planning out your time and always scheduling in things that aren’t one of the many things you probably “should” be doing during your day.

Keeping this balance in order has always been a challenge of mine. As a typical teenager, I have often placed instant gratification ahead of the rewards of long-term gratification in my decision-making process. This has meant that I’ve definitely watched one too many episodes of Dexter or gone out on one too many evenings when I should have been studying for my quiz that I was planning to take at 8 AM the next morning…

However, I’ve realized that when it comes to finding happiness and that sweet balance of fun and work, planning and setting goals is everything. Sometimes I get into “the zone” and work for hours on end. At the time, I feel very accomplished and proud of myself, but an hour later you can probably find me drooling all over my desk, fast asleep. My point is that the best way to be productive is to work in manageable amounts at a time, as well as doing “breaks” the right way.

Here is the wrong way to take a break: do nothing/partying your sorrows away.

Here is a slightly more improved version of a productive break: read, nap, go on a walk, write, draw, one or two episodes of Netflix.

Yes, of course, we all deserve “nothing-days” where we burrow ourselves into a cozy nest under our covers, sip tea, and binge-watch Netflix. There’s nothing wrong with that. All I’m saying is that maybe next time you find yourself with some free time on your hands, make it worthwhile. I’m hoping to improve upon this throughout the summer; I’m starting by making a bucket list. If I have a list of long-term goals or things I’ve been wanting to do, I’ll have something at the ready for the next time I find myself bored or saying I have “nothing to do.”

(Side note: I used to regularly find myself with “nothing to do” growing up, which seems absurd to me now. There’s always something to do.)

So in an attempt to find something to do, here’s my Summer 2015 Bucket List…

IMG_0514

How are you planning on spending your lovely summer time? 🙂

7 thoughts on “Day Nine – Get Inspired by the Neighbo(u)rs

  1. Blue Collar Dad says:

    Great post, I’m lucky that my day job allows for some of this kinda balance. Though some of the guys up there take it a little far at times. Mainly with some of the pranks they pull. I haven’t planned any further than taking a long weekend as soon as I get my vacation time. The little misses and I need to decide what we will do with the kiddos in that time

    Like

  2. Arpita says:

    That’s a cool list, Gabi. I have been binge-watching Castle for the past few days, in between promoting my first book, writing blog-posts, catching up with old acquaintances. I finished college this summer, and it’s going to be a couple of months before I start my first job. I gotta make a to-do list of my own. Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. arblank says:

    Good post. I definitely love my lazy days (which today is probably going to turn into) but sometimes one turns into several, especially now that it’s summer. It’s important to try and get out too, even if it’s only for a few minute walk to the store. And I’m trying to make my ‘pajama day’ useful too by getting some writing and such done at the same time.
    I’ve seen a lot of friends doing bucket-lists lately and am thinking I ought to go put one together myself. I always think of things I should do… eventually and then never do. And then I find myself sitting around with nothing TO do later.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

